NIDA Advisory Council Welcomes Two New Members

This is Archived content. This content is available for historical purposes only. It may not reflect the current state of science or language from the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA). For current information, please visit

The National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse introduced two new members at its May 2013 meeting at NIDA headquarters in Rockville, Maryland:

Photo showing new councilmembers Dr. James E. K. Hildreth and Dr. Regina M. Carelli with NIDA Acting Deputy Director Dr. David ShurtleffNew Council Members Welcomed by NIDA (left to right) New member Dr. James E. K. Hildreth, NIDA Acting Deputy Director Dr. David Shurtleff, and new member Dr. Regina M. Carelli.

Regina M. Carelli, Ph.D., is a professor and director of the Behavioral Neuroscience program in the Department of Psychology at the University of North Carolina (UNC), Chapel Hill, and a member of the UNC Neuroscience Center and Curriculum in Neurobiology. She conducts preclinical research, using electrophysiological, electrochemical, and optogenetic techniques, to elucidate the role of the mesolimbic dopamine system and associated regions in brain reward processing and responses to cocaine. On the Council, Dr. Carelli is replacing Dr. Eric Nestler.

James E. K. Hildreth, M.D., Ph.D., is the dean of the College of Biological Sciences for the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology at the University of California, Davis (UCD), and a professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, School of Medicine at UCD. His research centers on the processes by which HIV enters cells and causes infection, HIV/AIDS immunology, HIV/AIDS microbicide development, and translational research. On the Council, Dr. Hildreth is replacing Dr. James Sorensen.

Dr. Carelli and Dr. Hildreth will serve on the Council through 2016. The NIDA Advisory Council advises NIDA in its efforts to identify, review, and support the most promising scientific research on the causes, prevention, and treatment of drug abuse and addiction. The Council comprises 12 scientists with expertise in the various areas of addiction research, 6 citizens who are knowledgeable about issues related to drug abuse, and ex officio members.